HOME and how to join Forum Open Area General Scott topics girder forks Reply To: girder forks

lewis onions
Participant

Hello Jerry, I’m no expert on girder forks (if anything) but as no one else has replied I will put my oar in! As you probabaly appreciate Scott kite forks are like the proverbial hen’s teeth so you will need to look for a suitable alternative. The late 1920’s Flyer tourers had Webb forks and I suspect that quite a few of those supplied with Scott forks had these replaced with Webbs quite soon after supply.

I have not been able to work out whether those fitted at the factory were heavy-weight or middle-weight Webb forks. I have a 1928 Flyer with heavy-weight forks but these are obviously not original equipment. Early photographs however appear to show heavy-weight Webb forks whereas later (mid-to-late 1930’s) picytures appear to show middle-weight. I have seen both on bikes and of course Brampton forks were fitted for some time in the mid 1930’s.

Webbs of some sort were used by a number of manufacturers. I have never seen a pair of heavy-weight Webb forks for sale but middle-wight ones are reasonably obtainanble. The closest fit for Scotts appears to be Norton Webb-type forks which I believe were manufactured by Norton to Webb design. These have (in most cases) extra check springs between the top and bottom links but these would appear to be capable of being removed. The bottom links are also different in most cases but I am not aware whether they are capable of modification to look more like the type used on Scotts. Another difference is that the blades have lugs for lamp brackets.